Anarcho-punk band Rudimentary Peni are not known as prolific recording artists. ‘Great War’ is only the band’s fourth LP since their 1983 debut ‘Death Church’. The LP has been in the can for some years however. It sees the band making a more mechanical, less organic sound whilst the lyrics tell tales of anxiety and anguish. Recorded several years ago before Rudimentary Peni engaged in another mysterious hiatus, Great War has finally emerged to kiss the gas-tinged light of a mustered morn. Expanding on the skeletal sounds and subject of 2009's “Wilfred Owen” single the band has seen fit to concentrate on a more mechanized approach doing away with even more of the humanizing aspects in their music this time delivering ten painful familiar shards fraught with brittle anxiety and anguished simplicity. Great War cements new phase in the ever-crawling metamorphic madness that is Rudimentary Peni. The album comes with brand new Nick Blinko Artwork on the sleeve and Inner Sleeve.




Label: Sealed Records

Cataloegue Number: SEAL012LP