LIMITED. /500 Worldwide. Deluxe red vinyl LP, Tip-on printed gatefold sleeve, Hand-numbered, Poly-lined inner-sleeve


Portuguese experimental trio 10000 Russos with the release of their fifth album Superinertia. Following on from 2019’s Kompromat the Porto-based band describe Superinertia as a record addressing the “state of inertia that humans live in the West nowadays. It isn’t a record about the past or future. It’s about now.” For all that Superinertia might take aim at a world without motion, however, the same cannot be said of 10000 Russos themselves. 10000 Russos music has always been about as kinetic as it gets: a truly unrelenting and motorik sonic force. On the other hand, Superinertia also sees the band itself move into whole new musical territories – aided especially by the recent addition of synth player Nils Meisel to the line-up (who replaces former bassist André Couto.) “The synths really opened up the sound of the band and gave more routes for the music to journey down. The most important thing on this album was to not repeat ourselves. A new arc in our sound is coming to life”, drummer and vocalist João Pimenta explains. On said arc, the Russos sound is expanded to include moments that invoke Ry Cooder’s ‘Paris, Texas’ soundtrack (‘Mexicali/Calexico’), dancey outbursts that transport you to the 90s Summer of Love (‘Super Inertia’), the closest thing Russos have ever done to a pop song (‘A House Full of Garbage’) and even a touch of banjo (albeit one that sounds like a country band on amphetamines playing over a feedback-blasted Stooges beat.)


Label: Fuzz Club Records

Cataloegue Number: FC149V12DE